Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:34 a.m. - May 01, 2002
Bad Manners, Lithium and Christmas
Why is it that some children aren't being taught simple manners? I have been diligent about teaching my kids to say "yes, please", "no, thank you" and to ask me before they ask their friends if they can eat dinner or stay the night at our house. Growing up I was taught never to put my mom on the spot by asking her, in the presence of my friends, if they could stay over. They have been getting better but, we had an incident last night that blew me away. Mark had gone down the street to retrieve the kids from a friends house and when he told them it was time to come home for dinner the neighbors daughter ran up to Mark and asked if she could come and eat at our house. The father was right there and didn't try to interject at all. Mark, being the guy he is said yes. I was livid. I was mad at M for being a push over and mad at the little girl (I shouldn't say little, she's almost 13) and mad at her father for not stepping in. I would've said "No" right away. I need more warning. I work all day and don't feel like coming home to another mouth to feed. I like to come home and have some quiet time. The weekends don't bother me as much, if they ask me earlier in the day. Am I being unreasonable here?

So I'm on my 4th week of weaning off the Lithium. I was feeling pretty darn good until last night. I got upset with M for letting O's friend come over for dinner. It actually started before that but I can't even remember what I got upset about. I think it was one of those situations where I expected him to read my mind and he didn't and I got mad. Yeah, that's what is was. Something really stupid. I do feel my moods fluctuating a bit but can't discern if it's the discontinuation of the med or my hormones as it is coming up on that time...again. Aargh. I hate this. I want to just be normal like everyone else. I want to be able to make the decision to have another child without having to consider my medications and moodswings. I want to come home in the same mood everyday and not have my family walk on eggshells around me. I want my kids to stop asking me "what's wrong" when I laugh and show happiness. See, they witness this so seldom that they actually think there's something wrong when I smile.

So can you believe it's May 1? Where does the time go I ask. I was at a Hallmark store the on Saturday picking out Mother's Day cards and such and noticed that in the front corner of the store they are setting up a Christmas tree already. Puleeezzz. It get's earlier and earlier every year. Now Christmas is my favorite time of year but this is ridiculous.

I must get back to work now. Have a great day everyone.

Question of the Day:

Would you accept $1,000,000 to leave the country and not step foot in it again? I want to add this prayer to my entry. A friend gave it to me some time ago: Be there, Father, in the moment of decision when two paths present themselves to our children. Especially during that time when they are beyond our direct influence, send others who will help them do what is righteous and just. Amen

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie