Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:50 a.m. - May 02, 2002
My Poor Pup Pappy
I'm still shaking.

Last night I was getting ready to take Pappy (the pup) for our nightly walk. I yelled his name and all of a sudden I hear this blood curdling yipe. If you've ever been witness to a dog getting his by a car that's what it sounded like. I run back to the kitchen where I hear him yipping and see that he's struggling with something. After I pick him up I see that he has the heat register (vent) stuck to his collar. I guess he had been laying on the vent to catch the cool air and when I called him he went to get up and his tags got caught in it. In his struggling to get free he got it twisted so tight that he was losing air. I usually don't panic but I couldn't get this thing free. I went running out the door calling Mark's name hoping that he hadn't gotten down to his mom's yet, he was no where in sight so I start towards my neighbors house yelling his name. By this time I am sure this dog is going to die in my arms and I am petrified. My legs were shaking so violently that I fell to the ground still trying to untwist the collar. Pappy stops yiping, I really panic. Finally I found the the little clip and was able to get a grip on it and get it open. The collar and the vent fell and Pappy just stayed in my arms shaking like a leaf. Finally Mike came out of his door in a very casual manner asking if something had happend. Here I am sitting on his front lawn with his sprinkler going holding my puppy and crying. I could barely get my legs to work to go back home. I gathered up our vent, collar and ourselves and went in the house and bawled my eyes out. I haven't been that scared in a hundred years. I really thought that dog was going to die. He wouldn't leave my side all night.

I calmed down and walked down the street to find dh who was out talking to the neighbors. I told myself, don't cry in front of these people, you don't know them that well, you'll look silly. So what do I do? I break down the minute I get to Mark. I was a mess. Later on I noticed that Pappy had messed all over my shirt. Poor little guy.

Later on that night our neighbors, Chris and Bill brought down a harness type collar where all the tags attach at the back instead of dangling down in front. They also brought a couple of toys for Pappy and a six-pack of Tequiza's for Mark and I. Neither of us drink but it was a very nice gesture. They're good people.

So that was my excitement for the evening. I could've done without it.

So I think I'm starting to feel the effects of the lack of Lithium in my system. I wake up in the mornings feeling sort of weird. Almost depressed. By the time I get up, get showered and on my way it seems to get better. I think I'll hang tight at my current dosage for another week or so and wean down from that. I really want to get off this stuff. I don't want to get pregnant (if we decide to go ahead with another child)and have to drop the Lithium cold turkey. No thank you. Been there.

So it seems that Mia has come up with a name for her baby. I'm dying to know what it is. I would link you to her page but I am having absolutely NO LUCK WHATSOEVER in getting ahold of Andrew. Does anyone have know how to get ahold of this person so that I can get my Gold Membership up and running? I'm getting quite impatient with this guy. I've paid the dues but don't have the "goods".

Back to work.

Question of the day:

Which sex do you think has it easier in our culture? Do you ever wish you were the opposite sex?

c-ya

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie