Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:44 a.m. - May 06, 2002
Ticks and other boring stuff
The first 15 minutes of my Monday were perfectly fine, that is until Olivia woke up with a rash covering 90% of her body. I didn't panic, yay me. Being that it's tick season and those little suckers have tried to take up residence on my chilren twice, I just knew this was it. I knew she had been bitten and had been infected with Lyme disease. So I start picking through her hair like a mama gorilla (only I didn't eat the little things like they do). A ha! I found one, nestled in on the side of her head. I did notice, however that it hadn't buried itself so I quickly but nonchalantly removed it with some tweezers. So she continues to complain that she's itchy and hot. I give her a dose of Benadryl and plop her back into bed. After I got back from taking Matthew to school I go up to check on her and she looks fine. The Benadryl worked. "Well", I think out loud, "maybe you haven't been infected by anything". At this point she informs me that she had tried some of my lotion last night. "A ha", I say. "But why are your face and feet rashy"? "Because I put it all over". The the aforementioned patient is resting comfortably at Grama's while the Mom spends an extra hour at work today to make up for being late. Ahh, parenthood!

So the weekend was overcast and rainy and we didn't make it to the Ham and Yam festival on Saturday. I really wanted to go. I ended up laying in bed until noon which I hate doing by the way. I feel like such a slug on the weekends. I have such a hard time with sleep and getting out of bed. That's the main reason I gave up on going to church,I just couldn't drag myself out of bed in time. I remember the days when I'd get up at 6 or 7 on the weekends and really dug it. I'd have an hour or two of quiet time, just for me, before Mark and Olivia would wake up. And I made it to church every Sunday. Oh, how I wish for those days again. I did make some killer oatmeal raisin cookies though and touched up a few places where I had missed when I painted the living room last month. Mark tried to hang up my chandelier that my mom had sent me but kept blowing out other fuses everything he'd go to turn it on. C'mon, there's only two wires that we're working with here and neither one, when connected would make it work? I guess he'll have to ask Bob the Builder how he wired it when he gets to work today.

So, all in all nothing very earth shattering. This, as Martha would say, is a good thing.

Question of the day #13:

What would constitute a "a perfect evening" for you?

ciao

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie