Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:18 p.m. - June 05, 2002
Innocently Inhaling
I have a HUGE rant tonight so please bear with me.

Being that it's Wednesday we went out for our usual "All You Can Eat" at Pizza Hut. As usual, we asked to be seated in the Non-Smoking section. The only thing that seperates these two sections is... nothing. Being from the West Coast smoking is a BIG no-no in restaurants so it has taken some getting used to. Anyway, as were waiting for our waitress I'm scanning the place just checking people out like I always do and I notice this family sitting together in a booth. Mother and Father and two kids and dad is sucking away on a cigarette while these 2 children sit there helpless because of course, that's all they've ever known. My path of vision then scans down one more table to see another family, Mom, Dad, 2-year old and brand new baby, couldn't be more than two or three weeks old. Mom and dad are setting there, both of them dragging away on cigarettes. The mother was holding the baby in her arms feeding him a bottle and smoking at the same time and every time she'd exhale it enveloped this pour little being who has no voice whatsoever. I was absolutely disgusted. I literally felt sick to my stomach. I wanted to stand up and scream across the restaurant "Don't you know any better?" "Don't you people get the news out here?" "Don't you know the statistics?" How can people be so stupid? Ignorance is not even an option here. Ignorance is not knowing any better. Stupidity is know better but doing the opposite. A totally selffish act is what it is. I understand that being in the South I'm going to see alot of this. They seem to be slightly behind the times in certain areas but, come on. I'm seeing more and more parents driving around town with their windows rolled up and their children in the backseat while they puff away. Isn't this Child Endangerment? What's the difference between slowly killing your child with second-hand smoke and slapping them around? If it's done for a long enough period of time the result likely to be the same? I'm sorry if I'm rambling...wait, no I'm not. This just really pisses me off to no end and I can't do a damn thing about it. My heart bleeds for those children who can't speak up for themselves..

Oh yeah, I have fixed my guestbook so you can sign away.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie