Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:52 a.m. - June 11, 2002
VBS Jitters
I'd like to start out by congratulating Mia. She found out today that she's having...um...you'd better go find out yourself. It's so exciting. I can't wait to do this again. I guess we'd better get busy. I was actually kind of bummed when my period showed up last week. Mark is for another, at least he say's he is. I think he just wants sex! Anyway, go see what I'm flappin' about.

The kids started VBS last night. We haven't found a church since we've moved here so I took them to a church that we visited once. Most of the people I work with go there so I felt comfortable taking them there. All the kids met in the sancutuary and were divided up by grade. I put O in her row and went to take M to his. When I turned around O was standing behind me with that look of "I'm going to lose my lunch". She started to cry then M proceeded to cry. I was livid. I pulled them both aside to tell them that there was nothing to be afraid of. That this was about having fun and meeting new friends. They wouldn't go for it. A couple of the group leaders came over and tried to talk to them and they wouldn't go. These weren't strangers either, one was my boss and the other a co-worker.I couldn't believe it. I wasn't giving up though. As we stood up to go to class Olivia met one of her friends and in the blink of an eye she was gone. Her mood did a 360. So now it's me and M. I stayed with him through the evening and he had a blast. They had crafts, Bible story time, water time and snack. It was a very fun evening. As we were driving home I asked if they remembered the beginning of the night and how upset both of them were and to look at themselves now and how much fun they had. They both agreed but I know it's going to be like pulling teeth to get them to go tonight, but I'm not giving up. They are going. I want them to come out of their shells. Maybe this is the wrong way to do it. In talking with O last night the thought of counseling crossed my mind. This doesn't seem normal to me. We go through this every school year where she gets herself so worked up that she gets sick. I dread the beginning of school or anytime that she's off for extended amounts of time. Can anyone else relate? I feel for her because I know the feelings she's experiencing...I think. I equate it to the panic that I have experienced in the past and I DON'T ever want her to go through that.

Okay, I need to hang up now.

Question of the day:

If you could change anything about the way you were raised what would it be?

c-ya


take the which one of the trading spaces cast are you? quiz!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie