Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:46 p.m. - July 12, 2002
Dreams vs. Reality
I am about 15 hours away from having a crowd of 6 year olds running around my house and I have done hardly anything to prepare for it. My house is somewhat presentable and I don't really feel like putting much more effort into it, since these kids don't give a rip what it looks like. All they care about is filling their bellies and beating the crap out of the pinata I bought. I did manage to remember to order his cake yesterday. They didn't have anything "Jungly" so we ended up with Jurassic Park. Eh, dinosaurs and elephants, they sort of resemble each other!

When will I ever learn to stop trying to throw those great Martha-Stewart-like parties? I set myself up for failure all the time. I envision these theme based parties where everything matches and there are wonderful games with prizes. Cherub faced children eagerly but patiently waiting their turn to get the clothes pins into the jar or pin the nose on the clown. When in reality I'm slinging dogs into buns hoping that none of these children have any odd reaction to some ingredient in the hot dogs. Using what's rest of the gallon of vanilla Breyers I bought last weekend and pray that no one is lactose intolerant. Oh Lord, imagaine that. "I have Pull Ups for everyone, grab one at the door as you leave". They will maul the dog and the cat will disappear into some corner of the house praying that none of those beasts finds him. My house will be trashed with wrapping paper and the remains of the pinata loot. I always end up buying too much stuff at the party store, don't remember to keep my receipt so then I'm stuck with a 12 pak of super balls and those little blow things that have a ballon on the end. You know, the ones that cause the kids eyes and cheeks to bulge out so that they look like those puffer fish? I'm still debating if I should blind fold or not while they hit the pinata. Blind folding lends itself to that one little child coming unglued because he can't hit it then he starts going for the people standing around him. Yep, seen that a few times.

Maybe I should just let it ride, see what happends. Watch my son have a great day with his friends, eat cake and be happy. Because after all, this is what its about...right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie