Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:52 p.m. - July 16, 2002
Hot, hot, hot
Let's see if I can manage to type an entry and have it stay in one place.

It's so stinkin' hot today, my WeatherBug says its 102 and tomorrow is suppose to be worse. I so worry about Mark grinding away in the heat. Hopefully he's working in one of the houses and not on it. I've tried to get him to slather on the SPF before he leaves in the morning but he never does. Short of tackling him down and rubbing it on him myself, which I'm sure he wouldn't mind, I can't get him to do it. It's so hot that the kids don't even want to play outside. My mil bought them some videos yesterday so I guess they are gelling in front of the tube.They miss having grama's pool, let me tell you.

So, not only have I've given up the cool spaciousness of our truck for a much smaller more cramped Honda Prelude, but I just learned today (of all days) that the AC is on the fritz. Man, I hate when that happens. I reeeelly want to sell this car and get out from under it. It's a nice car...for a Barbie doll, a short one at that.

The kids and I emptied Wilbur today. Oh, let me step back a minute. Wilbur is our pig, as in piggy bank. He's a life-sized pig that I picked up from the mall a couple of years ago. He weighs about 45 lbs. empty. Imagine me walking around the mall with this pig. It was quite a site. Anyway, I figured we could use the money that's in there for our trip to Carowinds this weekend. I'm thinking there's probably a couple hundred in change and that way I won't have to dip into our savings. Coke has $8 off coupons on their cans down here so we'll use those as well. I'm determined to save some money on this get-away. I'm thinking about just sleeping in the car to save money on a hotel room. We could always wash up at the corner Shell station!! I usually am not a bargain hunting, coupon clippin' mama, but now that I am in a position of seriously needing a new car I have to learn to save and cut corners. No more Brighton shopping sprees. This should be a great lesson in budgeting and saving. I have never done such things in my life so I'm sure it will be difficult. See, my parents were horrible examples when it came to finances. I remember them being in the red my whole childhood. We never got things outside of holidays or birthdays. Never got new clothes unless it was back to school time. There were no extras and I can remember for a good part of my childhood that both my parents worked. I don't remember my mom spending frivolously so I don't know where their money went and it's really none of my business. Anyway, now that I'm an adult I have repeated the same patterns. I spend way more than I should on things that I don't "need". I've tried to look deep inside and see why I do this because I have put us in debt quite a few times. The only thing I can figure is that I'm trying to fill a space that otherwise would stay empty. One thing that I have come to learn is that I don't need nor really want any of the things I buy. I have a closet full of clothes that I rarely wear, shoes that are gathering dust, books that I never read and probably never will. I have gotten better about spontanious purchases but there's still work to be done. I guess writing all this down here is the perfect place to start, eh? I've tried to bury my head in the sand for too long. For now on we're going to eat left overs until their gone, I'll buy generic brand everything. I'll wash our clothes on the stones out by the pond and raise my own chickens. I'll put a bucket of ice in front of the fan instead of the AC and I'll never get my hair highlighted again. Wait, wait, wait a galdarn minute, I have to draw the line somewhere, put highlights back on my list of must haves! Seriously now, I'm turning over a new leaf...after our weekend away.

I took this questionaire from Athena I hope that's ok???

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie