Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:31 p.m. - July 20, 2002
Untitled
It seems that all the talk lately on the news is about all the missing children. This sort of coverage is desperately needed. Why Lifetime chose to air the story with Shannon Dougherty about her daughter being kidnapped, raped and murdered twice in a row is beyond me. We made the mistake of watching it only to have Olivia walk in. She immediately started bawling saying that she was scared to even walk out our front door. She said she didn't feel that she was protected enough, that she's afraid to go to her friends house now. That she was going to have to figure out a way to get back and forth to her Grama�s without walking down the street. Pretty profound statements for a 9 year- old. How pathetic is that? My children are afraid to be children. Kids shouldn't have stuff like this weighing on their minds yet, how can we possibly assure them that everything will be ok? I've got this great trip planned for the rest of the weekend and they both are having second thoughts. We've gone through different scenarios with both of them and what they should do in each of them. I think if these situations ever came to life that they would instinctively now what to do, but then part of me has doubts. They are both terribly shy kids (you wouldn't think that being around them) but when you put them in front of a stranger they clam up so tight you can't pry them open. What has this world come to? We shouldn't have to be so frightened about letting our children out into the world or in this case the front yard.

We�ll be back on Tuesday so I�ll see you all then.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie