Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:55 p.m. - July 31, 2002
The Usual - with an update
I think this heat is really starting to wear on me. Everyone here says it�s been unseasonably warm and with no breaks. This has been about the 12th day with temps over 95. People are getting grouchy, me included, yards are dying because we can�t water but every other day, at this point it doesn�t matter because everything is fried beyond recognition anyway.

They still haven�t found the naked guy yet. Last I heard they were dredging some lakes/ponds in the area. As it happens, he is an autistic 20 year old who ran out of the house naked just as he was going to take a shower. I don�t know what�s gotten into me lately but, all this horrible news is bringing me down. Lord knows I don�t need any help. The war, the murders, drugs, high cost of living. There is nowhere to get away from it. Okay, now that I�ve brought everyone down to my level I�m picking myself up by the scruff of my neck and moving on.

Some exciting news, the last of Mark�s family will be here tomorrow. Pat flies in tomorrow afternoon and 2 of her 3 sons are driving and will be here Monday or Tuesday. Looking forward to seeing that big yellow Penske truck come around the corner! O & M are really excited. If you ask when Auntie will be here Olivia will recite her flight number, any lay-overs and time she�ll get here that is if her flight has good tailwinds and all green lights! It�s very cute. Now if I could just get Beth to move out I�d be a happy camper.

We are possibly on our way to having health insurance again. Despite the high premiums, I�m going to enroll with my company. Anything has got to be better than trying to deal with Blue Cross, or any other carrier, as a private plan. They can single you out for cancellation; hike up the prices more often, hold any illness you�ve ever had in your lifetime as reason to call you a risk, and their customer service SUCKS. This time my husband will be covered. HALLELUJA! I�ve had it so easy for so long with my last employer. It came out of my check each week and I had coverage for anything including mental health services/prescriptions. I�ve have been made to feel like a low-life alien for far too long now. Yes, I am a depressive and I shouldn�t be frowned upon because of it. I have enough trouble dealing with it on my own thankyouverymuch.

I�d better go clean the dishes from dinner. I made some killer bu go kee tonight. The recipe goes something like this:

Top sirloin steak cut into very thin strips

Marinade: I use enough of each ingredient to my taste)

Soy Sauce (about 1 cup)

Chopped garlic (2 large cloves)

Sugar (about 1/4 cup or to taste)

Sesame seeds (roasted if you have time)

A couple green onions chopped

Pepper to taste

Sesame oil (about 2 TBLS)

Romaine lettuce

White rice (made by package instructions)

Wasabi (Don�t forget the Wasabi!)

Let the meat marinade 24 hours if you have time if not at least a couple of hours.

You�ll use the lettuce leaves in the same fashion as a tortilla (Actually Mark likes to eat his with flour tortillas)

Heat a skillet on med/high and cook meat until done.

Put some Wasabi on the lettuce

Add some rice

Top with the meat

Wrap up and eat.

KILLER!

They found the naked guy. Poor kid. They found him in some crawl space under a house in Holly Springs. He's being treated then probably tossed out to another home. I feel so sorry for people who don't have a loving family to take care of them. This kids probably doesn't even know what a "regular" life is like.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie