Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:48 a.m. - December 02, 2002
Thanksgiving Wrap Up
I hope everyone had a nice Thanksgiving. Ours was nice and it was fun to see the fam again but it was nicer to sleep in my own bed. Even though it is somewhat of a hassle to drive the 500 miles to see everyone, it sure makes me appreciate my family more. I think we took each other for granted when we lived so close to each other. My nieces and nephews have gotten so tall. My middle nephew just turned 16 and goes 6'2". I remember when I used to tote all those kids around with me. I loved taking them places. People would give me crazy looks, here I was 18 with 3 kids in tow, two of them looked just like me. I'd have to laugh because I knew what they were thinking. The moment came on Friday night, the moment that I knew would come some day; Amanda, my oldest niece, asked if she could take O and M to the skating rink. All the kids (6 of them from 18-6) were going and they wanted the younger ones to come too. I automatically said "No". I was thinking to myself "Whatya think I'm crazy letting my babies in the car with you"? I told them to ask Mark and he was fine with it, surprisingly. Everything turned out. Amanda is a super-defensive driver, she's very responsible, they all are really. I was being the worried parent. I had to think back to when I was driving around with them in my car and how open my brothers and sil's were to me taking them. They went skating, had a grand time and were home by 10 to 9, 10 minutes early.

We had Thanksgiving on Friday because of us getting down there on Thursday and SIL having to work on Thurs. Dinner was wonderful as usual but my mom announced that she wasn't doing the holidays anymore so now it's up to me and my brothers. Pfft! I can't cook. We're all in trouble now.

We left there Saturday at 11:30 am and got home about 9:00 Sat. night. Long stinkin' drive I tell you.

So now I'm back at work and none to thrilled about it. I've decided I would gladly give up one weekend day for one weekday to get my stuff done. One day with no kids or husband under my feet. Oh, that would be heaven. I think I'm going to work on my boss for that, even if it's just during the holidays. I CANNOT shop with children, they get the "gimmes" and I get off track, and the mall won't rent me a stroller because they're too big. Whaaaa. I wanted to curl in a ball and cry.

It's 12:03, time for lunch.

ciao

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie