Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:34 a.m. - January 14, 2003
Job Hunting?
I just saw the biggest diamond I have ever seen in my life. OMG that thing was huge. A woman who used to work here came in to use our fax and everyone noticed the rock she was dragging behind her. Holy moley! It's a marquis shaped center stone that goes almost 3 carats with 4 little 1 carat marquis' one each corner, the band is probably about 1/2" thick with diamonds encrusted down each side. Her husband bought it for her for their 25th anniversary in St. Thomas. By her tone I think he paid about 15,000 for it. I knew I should have demanded a bigger diamond way back when. There is some truth to what they say, get em big in the beginning because as the years wear on they get smaller and smaller. Now he's buying her a new house, the one they have they don't like. It's a beautiful home if you ask me. Oh well, it's not my life.

So, the word on the job front is this:

March, April and May they have asked us "girls" to pick what Saturdays we want to work in exchange for a Monday. I jumped on that. I was just saying not too long ago how I'd give up a weekend day for a weekday. Here's my chance. It doesn't sound like they're going to be laying any of us off....yet. They want to do some Beta testing with the two systems and aren't ready to give up our tracking system just yet. We'll see how it goes. I really want to see this thing through, I don't want to give up just yet. I also HATE job hunting and interviewing and dressing up to sell myself to someone. I really would like to go in wearing my jeans and sweatshirt and say "look, this is me, this is what I can do, this is what I've done, I'll tell you like it is, I don't lie, cheat, or steal". "I'm dependable and will see things through." That's me. Am I hired?" I also hate it when companies dick around with you by not letting you know one way or the other if you've got the job. I hate when I'm left hanging.

Now it's time for lunch.

I'm outta here

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie