Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:19 p.m. - February 12, 2003
Schmokin' Camels and taking names
I'm semi caught up so I thought I'd take a breather. I wish I could get paid ridiculous money to do something I absolutely love. That's a question I'll throw out to all of you: If you could do something that you love to do and make great money doing it, what would you do? I think I would own my own candy store. Sounds silly and juvenile, but when I was growing up I remember a certain candy shop at Southland Mall in Hayward (Ca.) that had the most awesome confections. Maybe today they wouldn't appeal to me but I was awestruck by that place. At Christmastime one of the workers would roll out a long piece of sugar to make candy canes and I was just fascinated by that. They also sold these disc-like candies that tasted like cinnamon and caramel but they were hard so you could suck on one for hours it seemed. My dad loved them to so he'd always bring some home for me. I'd also like to make my own truffles. Here I go again with the chocolate.

I got a call from my mom this morning, not such an odd occurrence but she sounded so down. I thought she was going to tell me something had happened to my grama. She said she just wanted to call and hear my voice because of all the crap going on with the "threatened war" and all. I know she thinks something horrible is going to happen to us with us living so close to this nuclear plant. I felt so sorry for her worrying like that. It got me to thinking about the "what ifs" of this whole mess. My daughter is pretty frightened of the whole thing; Matthew is still clueless (although he knows it's wrong to have 3 testicles, different story!) How do we explain to them what's going on? When Desert Storm was going on our attitude was "Go ahead, Bush, send em over there, smoke a few camels and come back", but now it's a different story. I tell ya, this world is going to hell in hand basket.

Okay, for a little lift, we bought MBFGW (the Greek movie) and were watching it with the kids. There's a scene in there where 3 testicles come up (in conversation) and I thought Matthew was going to blow a gasket. He started laughing so hard and wanted to prove to all of us that he only had 2 and that it's wrong, wrong, wrong to have 3. He had us ROTFLOAO, (figure that one out). It was very cute and the movie was good too. One of those fuzzy-feel-good movies.

I got a new candle today, I'm burning it in my office and it smells so delish in here. It's called lemon verbena lemongrass. Yeah, you guessed it, very lemony, mmmmm.

I'm going back to my fab job now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie