Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:43 a.m. - February 27, 2003
Mettalic Training Bras? I think not.
My dh took our computer down at home and I've been swamped here at work so I haven't been able to post. I hope you enjoyed Olivia's "birthday" story, I didn't realize it was going to be so emotional to write.

We took her and Rose (MIL)and the rest of the gang out to dinner at Outback on Monday. I got the Salmon like I always do. Good schtuff, Maynard. Dinner was nice, but when we got home Olivia sat me down to show me what she'd gotten. I was fine until I saw the sports bra and panties that my SIL had picked out for her. They�re hot pink metallic with silver metallic squiggly designs all over. Nothing that I'm going to let my 10 year old daughter wear, that's for sure. Mark was less than appreciative at Oldest Sister�s generosity, in fact he told Middle Sister that he felt that Oldest Sister over stepped her bounds and that buying a bra was Olivia's mothers� responsibility. Yay for DH. I'm sure this has gotten back to Oldest Sister and now her feelings are hurt, but no more than mine were when O showed me her new bra.

I've known for some time that she was going to need a training bra soon and I looked forward to her and I buying it together and I felt that that had been taken away from me. I remember my first bra and how excited I was to get it and the big deal my mom made of it. She took me out to lunch and then we went bra shopping. That was a special time and I was hoping to show my daughter the same attention. Of course now Oldest Sisters feelings are hurt. I can't tell her anything regarding my kids without her feelings being hurt. I give up. Anyway, having said all of the above, Olivia has decided that she doesn't like the bra and panties and will not wear them (smart girl) and that she would rather spend the time with me (when the time comes) picking out a real training bra.

We're having her birthday party on Sunday; you know the one with her friends. I don't know if I've already mentioned this here or not. A friend of a friend does bead parties and I've scheduled her to come and show the girls how to string their own necklaces and bracelets. She brings all the stuff needed and the girls will spend a couple of hours making a set for themselves. I took O and a couple of the neighborhood girls out on Saturday and they each picked out a pewter charm that they'll add to their work. They seemed quite excited. I am too. Low maintenance parties; that�s what I'm all about.

Peace out.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie