Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:52 a.m. - March 10, 2003
Weighing me down
Let's hear it for beautiful weather. OMG it was awesome this weekend. I opened up all the blinds and windows and let the fresh air in. Something about spring (well, almost spring) gets me fired up. I usually don't accomplish anything but I'm fired up! Mark and I did take advantage of the quietness and had ourselves some alone/together time. We're talking toe curling, spine tingling, hair- standing-up-on-the-back-of-your-neck alone time. Oh yes. Wouldn't you know it though, the moment we're done we hear the front door slam and feet clunking up the stairs and a knock on the door; "Mommy, can we play in the house"? Shit! I really wanted some cuddle time too. Ah well, you can't have it all...all the time.

Mark put new brakes on my car. I could feel them grinding so I told him about it. When he took the old brakes off there was absolutely no brake pad left. Pretty scary. And rust, man there's a lot of rust underneath that car, none that is causing any rotting just rusty gak. The car must be from Michigan or something! Come to think of it, this is the 2nd car I've had from Michigan. Hmmm.

The time has come that I shed some pounds. I've never seriously dieted before so I'm pretty scared that I'll fail. I remember while growing up that my mom was always dieting. I hoped I'd never have to do that and for the most part, I haven't. I was always thin until after I had my babies....and started Lithium. Errr, I hate that stuff. I've got a 70 lb. goal. Yep, that's right, I want to get down to 70 pounds!!! I think the quickest way to do that is amputation. Here at work we've got one group doing Atkins and the other doing Weight Watchers. After sitting back and eating what I want and assessing the two groups I think I'll try to follow WW. It's seems less constricting than Atkins plus Atkins can't be good for one's "inner workings". I'm thinking gallstones, kidney stones and such. Besides that, I'm not a huge meat eater so a high protein diet doesn't seem the logical way for me to go. I really need to do this. I want to feel better. I want to walk up my stairs and not be winded. I want my knees to stop hurting. I want to wear shorts this summer and be able to go into any store and be able to pick something out. I just want to be healthy. Look at my grama, she's lived to be 96 1/2; she didn't do that by eating junk all her life. I remember he telling me from an early age that "You have to take care of yourself, how do you think I've gotten to be so old", I think she was 65 when she first said that to me. I miss my grama I need to call her. Bad granddaughter. I think I might ask Kat if she can incorporate a little Status Box for me on my new layout. Nothing like putting it all out there for the world to see. Well, that and I know I can count on all of you for support...right?

Quote of the Day

"When everything's coming your way, you're in the wrong lane, going the wrong way"

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie