Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:07 p.m. - April 02, 2003
-
If you didn't read my last post, you need to.

Got a call from the dr. today. It seemed like she wanted to pick a fight with me the minute I got on the line. Some crock about me not being here (at work) when she tried to call yesterday between patients. This phone is answered between 8-5 no matter what. That kind of pissed me off. She explained about the CA125 test and that it was negative and for some reason these cysts are playing "catch me if you can" on my ovaries and she is going to need to do yet another ultrasound next month. I'm beginning to think she doesn't know what's going on. I'd rather her tell me "Look, we don't know what's causing these, but we do know that it's not cancer" and send me to someone who might know. Does everything always have to be about the stupid dollar? All these years Mark has been telling me that doctors are really into it for the money, that it's a business it's not about helping people anymore. "We can't figure out what's going on during this 5 minute appointment so you're going to have you come back next month and maybe we can diagnose you". I'm beginning to agree with him.

Speaking of doctors, I went to the psych. the other day (I think I mentioned that here). First time seeing one since we left California. After our "interview" he asked if I had ever been diagnosed ADD. For some reason that was music to my ears. I thought "Finally someone might get my diagnosis right", but guess what? I have to come back for 3 more visits (at $205 per) before he can make a proper diagnosis. In this case I can handle the wait as I'm holding my own pretty well. I can't stay focused at work or read anything without losing concentration, but I'm not ready to slip over the edge either. I just don't get where these people come up with their fee's. Do they just grab a number out of the sky? Do you have any idea what we could all be doing with $205 bucks an hour? Holy Moley.

I guess I'm done complaining now. Sorry.

Quote of the day

"Borrow money from pessimists - they don't expect it back"

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie