Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:27 p.m. - May 03, 2003
You New Do Looks Like Doo Doo!
If I have to listen to one more round of Hot Cross Buns I'm going to scream. O has been practicing for her music class. I've been plugging away at the house all day, as usual for a Saturday. I'm trying to de-clutter and get rid of things that we really don't use, need, or care about. I don't think I need to keep the party decorations from Olivia's 8th birthday party, and those size 2 shoes of Matthew's that not even a homeless person would want can go. There's alot of weeding out to be done. Gotta make room for the new shit you know.

Do you realize what a challenge it is being poor? It teaches one to become creative with new ways to save money. It really sucks on the one hand, but on the other I'm learning to be frugal for the first time in my life. Today O needed to get a poster board for a project. We came upon a gift card that she got for her birthday back in February so I made her use that. Not only did she get what she needed but she also bought a pair of shorts and a shirt all for 12.00. We then proceeded on to the Leaping Lizard (coffee kiosk) because I had a coupon for $1 off and a punch card with one left on it. I got my coffee for $2.25 and used my feebie on a peach "smoovie" for the kids. I was pretty proud of myself. We then skipped on over to Kroger to get gas and I scrounged almost $8 from the change in my purse. So now I've got a half tank of gas, jitters from the coffee and a poster board that she really didn't need until the 19th all for the everyday low price of $14.25. I think I can do this.

Did I mention Matthew's botched "do"? Here I thought I was yet again being frugal so I figured I'd cut his hair and save $12.00. Yeah, I did. I keep his hair in a bowl cut because...I like it. It gives him that baby look. Anyway, I trimmed the top part which was easy then took Mark's shaver and was cutting the sides when he bent his head this way and I went that way and together we put a very visible bald spot on the side of his head. O would'nt keep her lip zipped so now he's got a complex and doesn't want to go to school. He hid in the closet for awhile. Poor guy. This morning Mark thought he could fix it, which he did, but it still looks like "a haircut that his parents tried to give him and screwed up big time". I guess I'll work that $12.00 back into the budget!

O was recommended by her teacher to UNC for a writing program that is offered during the summers for 4th-8th grades. It's a two week course that costs $200. She's being given the opportunity to submit an essay and if chosen she and one other child in the county are given free tuition for the program. They're are offering Poetry, Science Fiction, Fiction, Playwright and some other creative writing couse. She is an awesome writer I must say. She's got this imagination that would blow you away. The only problem is that it's in Raleigh from 1-4 for two weeks during the summer. I don't think my MIL would be game to driving her there and going back to pick her up. O seems very unsure about it, but we've told her that we expect her to at least submit her paper and see what happends. I can't seem to get her to understand how important her talents are and that they are going to play a huge role in what she becomes later on. Either way, Mark and I are very proud of her. I wish I could have been as good as she is; she has never failed to amaze her family with her smarts. Am I bragging too much? Yeah, I didn't think so either!

Must.go.to.bed.

Night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie