Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:17 p.m. - July 06, 2003
And He Was Born
I'm such a bad mother for not having written this sooner, but I guess it's never too late.

Seven years ago Friday it was, an ordinary 4th of July well ordinary for some. For me I was virtually at the end of my robe. Physically and mentally I was shot. July has never really been a good month for as most of my depressions started then, but not that year. The day was hot and long, we had planned to hang out at the MIL's and watch fireworks from her driveway. Olivia was quite excited, I was hungry. Mark figured lunch at Spoons was a good idea. We went, we ate, we left. Fireworks that evening were nothing short of the same old, same old. All I wanted to do was go home and go to bed. I fell asleep shortly after we got home but had to get up at 2:00 am to take a tylenol for a screaming sinus headache. When I stood up I felt this huge gush and knew immediately that my schedule for the next day was had just been "booked", I was having my baby. Within minutes of getting up and feeling that my contractions started and they were only 6 min. apart. I cleaned up and went to wake up Mark only to tell him that he could go back to sleep because I knew this would take awhile. I figured that since I had been in labor with Olivia for 30 hours that I could probably count on this one being at least half. HA! They went from 6 min. to about 4 min. in about 10 min. Got that? I called the dr. who told me to go ahead a come in to be checked. Not a problem, I'm there. Wake up DH again, he takes a shower (can't go anywhere without a shower), wake up O, who could really care less that her baby brother was on his way. We head out, get to the hospital get into my room and I'm 3 min. apart and dilated to 5. I'm there to stay hooray. I immediately ask for an epidural, but the next person I see is this cantankarus looking old man would comes into my room. His face is kind of red except for that spot on his cheek where he must have been laying. His hair was wild and he just generally looked like he was in a bad mood. Thinking he was the anesthesiologist, I quickly changed my mind. The nurse who was laughing at me assured me that he would not be the one to stick a needle in my back, he's the baby doctor. Don't know if that was any better. The Anes. took forever and a day to get there, but finally showed with toolbox in hand. Pretty soon that old man was my best friend. He let me lean into him while the anes. tried like heck to get the line in. Oh, it hurt so bad. Another nurse comes in screaming for the anes. to get into the delivery room NOW, they had an emergency section. Mark turned around to her and said "She's not leaving until she's done with my wife". God must've been looking out for both of us because just then she got the line in, finished up and was able to get to the other patient. I finally got comfortable, but it seemed that the epi wore off quite fast. It wasn't a continuous which ended up being a good thing. The next thing I remember is Mark leaning down asking me if I needed anything and I told him I had to push, now. Those nurses came in and got everything ready so fast, I was amazed. Dr. Kramer (not my planned dr.) came in, sat down and told me that I could go whenever I was ready. I remember the sun shining really brightly into my window, mom and dad and one brother were there. I was so excited and my dad had to keep Mark reigned in like a wild dog, he was over the moon. Right when I started to push I got the worst upset stomach and had to purge. Everytime I'd purge it would push him out further. Dr. Kramer was laughing at this point saying that he'd never seen it done like this, but whatever works! I kept hearing Mark saying "His head is out", "hear come his shoulders" and I couldn't believe that it was happening so fast. Before I knew it he was here. In total I pushed 5 times. I remember waiting for him to cry, I was so worried that the meds I had been taking (Paxil) were going to cause him to have respitory difficulties. He started whimpering and I knew it was ok. They did what they did with him and gave him to me. He felt like a 20 lb. football. He wasn't anything like what I expected him to be. He had blond hair, blue eyes that he couldn't open because his face was so fat.

At 7:09, July 5, 1996 Matthew Glen plunged his was in. He weighed-in at a whopping 9 lb.s, 5.5 oz. and 21 inches. His head circumference was 18"

I was so happy to have that pregnancy over and to finally have him. My family was ecstatic. When Olivia came later that morning she had a smile from ear to ear. Grama's and aunties and friends came to see him. The clouds parted and the angels sang from above!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie