Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:57 p.m. - August 06, 2003
Summer Vacations
I can't say that I've got anything exciting to write about. I guess that why I haven't been posting lately. We've been hanging out enjoying these last days before school starts. I took advantage of the no tax weekend and bought them some clothes. They're hardly ever in need of clothes because someone is always buying them something. We actually caught a great sale at Hechts and Penney's so I have to say that I did very well. They both got their letters yesterday telling them who their teachers would be. Miss O was none to excited to read that she got Ms. Chandler however she was ecstatic to hear that her two best friends got her too. Matthew could really care less. He's starting to get whinny (sp?) on me complaining that he doesn't want to go back to school. I can't even tell you how I hate this part of the school year. I'm hoping that once they're back at school I'm going to feel more motivated to get a job. I really have enjoyed this time with them. We've been able to do quite a few things. Nothing like Disney World but a few trips to the museum, the movies, a trip to grama and papa's, lots of swimming, shopping and orange aids at Elliotts. I think it's things like that that they remember. The thing I remember most about my summers, which were spent under the care of my 97 y/o grama was the twice-daily trips we took around the corner to go take care of a blind unlce. We walked everywhere we went and this was no exception. We had to walk through the school park to get to his house and more times than not she'd let me play for awhile. She'd pick mushrooms while I played. We then headed on to Uncle Tony's to dust, sweep, vacuum and cook his meals. Sometimes I would sit at the table with him and watch in amazement how he'd count out his money. He knew his coins and paper very well. He'd have the corners of the one's folded on the upper right hand corner, 5's would be the left, or vice-versa. That was always a trip watching him try to give my grama money for taking care of him. She'd shoo it away and yell at him in Spainish. She took care of him for 20 years. We'd also walk to the little market where she'd pick up the necessities. She always knew whoever was working and would talk to them in Spainish. I kick myself now that I never learned my language. Anyway, I hope my kids remember these small things because they're what's most important and what form us. Don't you agree?

So now it's off to see what the want ads hold for me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie