Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:18 a.m. - August 28, 2003
A Prayer Request
This week has flown by so far. It wouldn't bother me so much if I could just get some stuff done around here. At the end of the week I look back and can't really account for accomplishments.

I got a call from my mom on Monday telling me that there's something going on with my dad. She say's that he's lost a bunch of weight (which we all noticed when we were there last month), he's forgetting to do things like put his stuff away when he's done working at the church (he's their maintanence guy). She says he looks disheveled quite often and sometimes has a hard time dressing himself. He seemed put together when we were there so I don't know if she may be exaggerating or what. All of this is totally out of character for my dad. He's ex-military and worked at Lockheed for 35 years so he's always been very meticulous about whatever he does. He doesn't let us do the dishes when we visit because we don't load them the right way. She also says that he's very depressed and his coordination is off. I don't know what to think, I mean I do but part of thinks that if I say the words it will somehow make it all true. He's got an appt. on Friday at 2:00 to see an MD which will yield nothing but tests and referrals so I'm not holding my breath about hearing anything. It's hard to picture my dad being sick. He's always been this pillar in my life. He's the one we all went to when we needed help or advice. I just wish he would've taken our advice when we asked him to quit smoking all those times, and to cut out the rich food that he so enjoys. He's so stubborn, that man. I can see it now that if his doctor prescribes anything for him he won't take it. He won't even take an aspirin for a headache. I'm going to be so bold as to ask you to please keep him in your prayers and good thoughts. I don't know what I'd do without my dad.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie