Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:25 p.m. - August 30, 2003
A Revelation of Sorts
I talked to my mom for a brief moment today. She was at work and very busy so I only got a little out of her. I actually called to get a recipe, but she informed me that my dad is now taking an antidepressant. I may have mentioned that he's adamant about not taking meds so I was quite surprised to hear that he embraced this idea. This huge blinding floodlight went off in my mind after I heard all this because this can explain the weight loss and no appetite and obviously his depressed mood. It can also explain his inability to think clearly and verbalize what it is that he's thinking about. I remember during one of my worst depressions not being able to talk at all. I wanted to, I want to scream and cry but I just couldn't get anything to come out. Needless to say I was quite relieved at my revelation. I'm still guarded though as it's been over 30 years since my dad has been in for a physical. I could literally slap him for that! He ended up later calling me to give me the recipe and I noticed that he was having a hard time spitting it out, like he was losing his train of thought. I can't tell you how often that happens to me. I told him what I knew about the drug and that he had to be vigilant about taking it and that he should start to see results in a few weeks. He sounded very willing to do what it takes to get better.

Anyway, I keep praying (and hope you will too) that his tests come back clear. BTW, his name is Dave.

Thanks for listening...again.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie