Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:45 p.m. - September 09, 2003
Update on Dad
I forgot to update yesterday with the results of my dads tests.

He called me around 2:00 to let me know that everything came back OK (whatever that means), he has a tendency to sugar coat things as to not worry me. He sometimes forgets that I'm not 3 anymore. I asked him about his cholesterol, but they didn't take it. I thought that was standard??? White blood cells are normal, red are a little high (mom has a call into the Dr. to see what exactly that means). They did find a spot on each lung, but one has been there since the 70's and doesn't seem to have increased in size. The other one the Dr. referred to as a line (maybe he meant border"line" suspicious) so they scheduled him for a CAT scan this morning. I'm sure there was more to it than that but that's all the info he gave me. My mom says that he's trying to quit smoking again and that he hasn't had one in 2 weeks. I'm not sure who I believe on that since he's tried to quit so many other times. One thing is for sure though, I think he's been scared straight. I think he realizes that he's only hurting himself by not taking care of himself and that there's no better time than now start. I have to say he sounded like a new man on the phone. He wasn't fumblilng with his words, his spirits seemed high and he sounds positive about what the CAT will reveal. I think the Paxil is starting to work for him. Oh, he says he's gained 3 lbs. That could be the meds as my mom says he still isn't eating his usual amount of food. I think part of that comes from being the cook. I know that when I cook I never want to eat. I guess smelling it and testing it put a damper on the appetite. Mom did say that she hears him at night making a snack so it's not like he's not eating at all. He's sneaky that way.

All in all I'm feeling pretty positive. I'm not in denial, I know that the CAT can reveal more than we bargained for, but my family is very close and very supportive and we will deal with whatever is given to us. We're very lucky that we have so many people that we know very well and some that we have never met praying for him. I know he appreciates it as he has told my mom so and she has relayed that to me. Their Pastor told them this morning that the phone was ringing off the hook at their church with everyone wanting to know how everything was, including Mildred, the 96 y/o woman who has the hotties for my dad!!! So anyway, thank you out there who have prayed for my dad. I do wish that you would keep squeezing those hands together really, really tight, and close your eyes really, really tight and keep praying. I'll have more news in a couple of days.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie