Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:29 p.m. - September 23, 2003
Laying on of Hands
They attended church like they always do. This time was special because my niece was attending with them. Mom always loves to show off the family:) When the alter call came she said she had decided to pass since they always go up, she wanted to give others a chance. She noticed some long lost neighbors had stepped up and for some reason she took the bible out of Dads hand and gave it to Amanda to hold. They walked to the front of the church where the Pastor offered a special prayer just for my dad. As they bowed their heads she said she could hear his voice becoming more distant (to make way for everyone) and when she opend her eyes the whole choir and quite a few members had all stepped forward and each came by and touched my dad's head as if to ward off the beast that has taken up residence there. She said she has never felt anything so Awesome in her life. The tears began to flow and one-by-one everyone came up to lay hands upon my Dad.

I am amazed at the out pouring of love for my dad. He's never been a really religious man, but I think what he has witnessed in the last few weeks has amazed him. They are getting cards and emails from people they don't even know.

Today was his 2nd radiation treatment, all went well. They met with a nutritionist for about 2 hours and gave my mom some tips on how to cook when he's really not in the mood for food. A whole slew of women from their church have set up a routine to fix him meals when he's getting his treatment so that the smell won't be in the house. My SIL, who's a nurse brough him one of those 4-pronged canes this weekend. One less expense my mom won't have to worry about. I guess his balance is off so he needs it. He's always used a cane for his bad knees so this won't be so foreign to him.

I cleaned up my kitchen today. Woowhoo! I know you're all very excited. I got a request from California for some pictures of my house so I felt obligated to at least straighten up a bit. Yes, Kel, I will post them...soon.

Peace out.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie