Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:37 p.m. - October 08, 2003
More News
I got a call today that I never expected to get. Middle brother called to give me some more news. I get on the phone and 1. he sounds a million miles away and 2. didn't greet me with his usual smart ass comment.

G: "Have you talked to mom in the last day?"

Me: "Yeah, she told me about dad's chemo start date being pushed out (he's going to be part of a study. More on that later)

G: Deep, deep sigh

Me: Holy shit, what is he going to tell me now? I can't take anymore bad news. Is something else wrong with dad? Or is something else wrong with another of Pam's (sil) relatives? Her dad has lung cancer, my dad has lung cancer and she just found out two weeks ago that her brother has liver cancer. I'm thinking How is this girl going to handle any more bad news? "What, tell me what's wrong"?

G: "Well, it's P this time".

Me: No F---ing way, I think.

G: Yeah,

"She's pregnant"!!!!!

OMG, my heart fell to the floor then went right out the top of my head. I was shaking. He knew that he had me a bit frazzled. Seems that we're going to have a new baby in the family sometime mid-April (G's birthday). This baby is a little souviner (sp?) from Maui! They're both happily shocked. Their youngest (her son) is 12 and his youngest son is 16, older son is 18. He says he feels more ready now to have a child and be a dad than he did when he was 18 years ago. Eighteen years ago he wasn't ready either but the woman he was dating and later married was pregnant with oldest nephew from a previous relationship. G took D as his own as did the rest of the family. I can totally see him with a daughter, but I think God is going to bless them with another boy. Heck, why break the chain now? Needless to say my dad is over the moon. He says he's so excited that it makes his hair fall out!!! He told his doctor this morning that if he didn't have enough reason now, with 8 grandchildren, than number 9 is going to be the magic number. he e shouted at me over the phone, as best he could, that I could always even out the score and make it 10. Yeah, I probably could, but the questions is, Will I?

Anyway, such wonderful news for all of us. I can't wait to hold a baby and smell it and sleep with it on my chest. I've been longing for that thinking that I would never be close enough to someone who would let me cuddle their baby like that. So my dad is "maybe" going to be part of a Taxol study. They've postponed his actual start date until after they can get all the necessary tests done. They'll do some stuff on his heart because his heart has to be in good shape and they'll do a full body scan. Those things are pretty cool. They can tell you if you have high cholesterol levels or any other problems that may be arising. We know of the obvious but this will tell us in addition to other things if and where the cancer has travelled to. His spirits still seem very high and he told me yesterday that he feels very, very comfortable with the people who work with him at the hospital. He's a typical male who hates hospitals so for him to feel that comfortable, they must be doing something right. He also says he wants to name the baby Amy! Is that cute or what. Then he said he wants them to pick a name from the bible. My dad is just a big softie sometimes. Babies just make him melt:)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie