Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:26 p.m. - October 26, 2003
Sunday October 26, 2003
I'm back in my own bed again. Ahhhhh! I got home in less time than it took for my brother to get home from the airport. I was home for about a half hour before we skipped out again for the fair, that was a mistake. I was more tired than I thought and we walked and walked but did not much else. The kids weren't even interested in going on any rides. Being that it was the last night it was there it was pretty crowded. I did however, try a fried twinkie. Don't waste your money. You either, Marlen, I know how you love em! When we got home I discovered that I left my cosmetic bag on the carousel so I had to make another trip out there today...and got lost. I found myself cruising West on 40 about 10 exits further than I should've been.

I've been in such a zone lately. I feel like I'm not really all here. I've spent the last week watching my dad, this pillar of man, become more and more dependent. I always knew there would come a day that I would be taking care of my parents, I just didn't think it would come along this soon. He actually did better than I expected after his first round, but there are still little things that I notice he can't do anymore. We had to rent a wheel chair for the first time on Wednesday. He wanted to go to Penney's to get a new hat but said his knees were really hurting. I felt so sad for him and wondered how he felt. I hope he didn't ever feel that he was a burden while I was there. I'm glad I'm close enough to be able to help. I'll be going back again on the 8th for round 2.

***********************

I'm grateful that my dad can still laugh even though he's going through such a trying time. One thing we did alot of this last week was laugh.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie