Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:05 p.m. - December 15, 2003
Off My Chest
So I set out today with intentions of finding a job. I managed to round up 2 applications for a couple of grocery stores here in town and I applied at Wal-Mart...again. They're like Home Depot (and others I'm sure) in that they have a computer set up and you sit there in the middle of their customer service department with strangers right behind you entering your personal info into the black hole of databases. I guess I could call and hound them. Later on in the day I got a call from yet another temp. agency wanting me to come in for an "interview" and testing tomorrow. Part of me wants to bag the idea but then again this could be "it". They could be the ones who find me a job even if only temporary.

I've been on a few Job Search message boards and I have to say that things look really bleak. There's plenty of minimum wage, go nowhere jobs out there, but for anyone who's got experience it seems there is nothing. The concensus is that the government is telling us that the economy is looking up and that there are more jobs but it's just talk to get us out there to spend more money. I'm probably way behind on this as I'm not one to pay much attention to politics because most of the time I don't understand it. I guess I've just always had my head in the clouds. I've always had a job and always felt very secure in it (them). Now I'm out here trying to survive wondering where the money is going to come from yet we make too much to qualify for any government assistance. Isn't that nice. I have no idea where I'm going with this, I guess I needed to get it off my chest. That's a whole 'nother story!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie