Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:33 p.m. - December 31, 2003
Happy New Year
We got through Christmas and 5 days with my folks. I shouldn't say it like that, but it can get "crowded" and uncomfortable at times. My mom is feeling like the only victim and sometimes she gets really short with my dad. I came to his defense a couple of times by telling her to mellow out. His thinking isn't clear and he has problems putting his thoughts into words and sometimes I just don't think she remembers that. She presses him to spit out what he's trying to say. I get so angry with her. I understand she's shouldering a lot of stress but she's got to understand that he's not the same person anymore.

Watching him made me realize how fragile he's become. It's hard for him to walk because his balance is off and trying to get up and down stairs is almost impossible. I see my brothers help him up and down and it saddens me. I've always felt like the 3 of them were there to protect me, but times have changed and now they are there to take care of dad. I realize that this is all part of the circle of life, but it's also made me realize that my life is zooming by as well.

I know I've mentioned here that middle brother and his wife are pregnant. I may have also mentioned that they are both carriers of cystic fibrosis and they were awaiting the amnio results that were to have been back the Monday before Christmas. That Monday came and we all waited on pins and needles for the results. Well, the lab screwed up and it was going to take another 3 weeks. How cruel. My SIL had fallen into a depression with her dad and brother being very ill and now this. To our surprise the morning after Christmas the lab called to tell her that Mia Abigail is perfect and is due May 18th! The angels sang and my brother is so excited about having a daughter. He would've been very happy with either, but he has always wanted a girl and was blessed 3 boys. When we gathered for prayer for dinner that night my dad was so excited he started to laugh in the middle of grace.

I started my job on Tuesday. I'm not sure where it's going to go. The hours are kind of screwy in that they're supposed to be 9-5:30 but they don't usually get out of there until 6, but I had to ask to leave at 6:15 last night. They all ended up staying until 8:00 because of a special request that came in from the hospital. I asked one of the girls this morning if I was supposed to have stayed and she said that because I'm new they didn't have anything for me to do. I took that as a "when I do learn the ropes I'm going to be expected to stay". I'm thinking "NOT". Also, in my administrative career I've never had to empty the garbage. Oh well, it's a job for right now. We'll see how things progress.

Tonight we're hangin' with the chickens as always. Olivia had a date with her girlie friends to go see Cheaper By The Dozen and M is sorting his crayons. Mark is down at his sisters drinking bloody mary's and I'm going to go dust off my fingernail polish bottles! I know, I know you're all jealous at the fact that we know how to live it up!

Be safe.

peace out

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie