Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:46 p.m. - May 05, 2004
Heaven Has a New Angel
He fought the hardest battle of his life to the very last second. I'm so proud of him.

My dad lost his battle on Tuesday night at about 9:30. He was at home surrounded by his family including his mother, brother, nieces and nephew. He tried so hard to make it to meet Abigail. We all believe that he gave up his fight so that middle brother wouldn't be torn between being with him during his last hours instead of being there when his daughter was born.

The mood around here is surprisingly light. My mom is doing awesome. She has her moments but she says she's not deeply depressed. She knows my dad would have none of that. She and I both know that she will go through changes once everything has calmed down and everone has gone home, but she will be ok. She has a new granddaughter to dote over and other projects and interests to keep her busy. She'll start back to work soon.

Now to the flip side of the story, Abigail Marie Ruiz arrived at about 8:00 this morning weighing in at a hefty 5 lbs. 14 oz. We were all way off on our weight pool estimates. Keep in mind that she is almost 3 weeks early. Had she gone full term I'm sure she would've hit the 8lb mark. Papa would've had a nickname for her and we're all trying to figure out what that would've been. Mark say's he would've called her Bubba! She's beautiful, lost of black hair and brown eyes. Brother is over the moon but exhausted. Mom is still trying to sleep off the drugs from the c-section. Both could use a solid 8 hours, but we all know how that goes. They both were up all night. The funeral home didn't come to get Dad until after 1:00 am and by the time things calmed down around here it was time for them to head to the hospital. I can't wait for them to come home so I can smooch on her without being timed by the hospital staff.

Thank you all for your thoughts and prayers over the last months. I know my dad is happy and healthy now.

"She is such a good woman, she's taken such good care of me. I bet she'd dance with me if I let her".

~One of the last things my dad said to me before losing conciousness.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie