Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:21 pm - May 11, 2004
Weekly Update
I can't believe it's been a week already. I'm trying so hard to remember everything I can about him and I find that my memory is failing me. Maybe if I don't try so hard it will just come.

My mom seems to be doing exceptionally well. I talk to her everyday and everyday she's cleaning something. So far it's been the pantry's in the kitchen where dad stocked up on some reeelly weird stuff. Saukraut, pickled beets, mint jelly, jalepeno jelly, garlic jelly. And the candy, she's got bags full of candy. My dad loved his sweets. In fact, on the story boards that we put together for the visitation there were 2 or 3 pics of him up to his elbows in cotton candy. He is definitely where I get it from. She's not really getting rid of anything like his clothes or what-not, just stuff that she knows no one else will want, like his false teeth that he picked the gold out of! She's learned that those tablets that you use to soak your dentures in are great toilet bowl cleaners.

She's sending me the quilt she had made for him but I ended up using the nights I slept on the floor next to him. She said she won't ever forget the vision of me next to my dad taking care of him like I did when I was little. Precious, precious memories. God don't ever let us forget them.

Miss Abby will be a week tomorrow. I'd post a picture but I still haven't gotten my gold. I sent a pic to some of you, but I want to put one up here. She's such an angel.

My folks at work surprised me with a huge Camillia plant this afternoon. I thought that was very thoughtful. They suggested planting in rememberance of my dad. I shall do just that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie