Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:15 PM - Friday, August 13, 2004
-
I've been trying to get in here and update for weeks but time has gotten away from me. I hate neglecting things like this.

Everyone on this side of the planet is waiting for "Charley" to drop in. I went to Walmart tonight to do some grocery shopping not even thinking about the crowd I was going to run into. The shelves were bare and everyone seemed to be in a slight panic. I on the other hand seemed to mosey around aimlessly. I think we were in the store for close to two hours. Now that we're on such a strict budget I have to slow down and compare frickin prices on everything which completely cramps my style. I'm used to whipping through the store, kids jogging behind me, throwing whatever I need into the cart with no regard for brand or price. Ugh. I have to keep reminding myself that it will all pay off. We'll finally have a savings account, bills will be paid off and paid on time and I won't have to worry about who's on the phone when it rings. We've never been known to manage our money very well and all these years of living by the seat of our pants has finally caught up with us. But this is good, right? The one thing I can honestly say I miss about California was my pay rate. If I could make that much money here and manage it appropriately, we'd be on our way...to Disneyworld or Figi or the mall!

School is back in session, Hallelujah. The Clouds opened up and the angels sang. We only had one meltdown per child which beats the usual one meltdown per child, per day for the first 2 weeks of school. O is in Jr. High, or middle school as they refer to it here. M is in the 3rd grade which blows me away. Where has the time gone? It makes me so sad that they're growing up so fast. My daughter is going to hit puberty any second and my son has discovered that his "friend" is awake when he wakes up in the morning. He asked me yesterday morning "Is it normal for "it" to stick straight up like that when I wake up"? I was so proud of myself for not busting out. I calmly said "Yep, it sure is". Why is Mark never around when M asks these questions? Ah, parenthood:)

We had yet another death in our family this week. SIL lost her dad to cancer. The same cancer that took my dad only he lived with it for over 2 years. I think this is everyone that we were all expecting to lose this year. Five people to cancer, that just seems astounding to me. Another thing I'm hearing alot of lately is people who have either lost both parents or both parents are being treated for cancer. It seems like the fight against this disease is all for naught.

I have another quick gripe. Is common sense a rarity? I had two things happen today that really kind of blew me away. While in Walmart this evening I see this family, Dad, Mom, toddler and baby about 12 months. The mom is pushing the cart with the baby standing inside the cart at the front. I wanted to yank her (Mom) by the hair and ask her if she really had no clue how easy it would be for that baby to tumble over the front of the cart. Then I had another woman call the pharmacy today saying that when she called in to get a refill on her meds that she accidently gave us the wrong Rx number. She didn't actually need the med that she received, she needed the other and could she bring that one back and get the other filled...at no charge. Aaaa, no. Legally we or any other pharmacy can not take back a medication once it's been dispensed and no, we can not give her a refund. Had it been our mistake we would have gladly fixed it. Either I'm at a Defcon 1 because it's the end of the week and I'm tired and want to go home or some people just HAVE NO COMMON SENSE.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie