Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:13 p.m. - January 23, 2005
Sunday
I can't believe that Johnny is gone. I was never a fan, can't even remember watching his show once. It's just proof, once again, that we're all getting older. Things and people that you think will be around forever eventually leave us. My grama is one. My mom called this morning to let me know that my cousin had called her to let her know that Grama isn't doing well. She hasn't been doing well since my dad died but she's declined very quickly since Christmas. I guess she doesn't get out of bed, her hearing, sight and other functions aren't working at all anymore. My uncle had hired a live-in for her but my grandmother fired her. I don't know why. So there she is in her house by herself. My uncle checks on her 3 days a week.My mom made it sound like she won't make it to her 100th in September. I'm very sad for her. She misses my dad terribly and told my cousin she wanted to go be with him. I feel if she's ready to go than so be it. She's lived a long life and had a tremendous influence on all of us. There are pieces of her that we will all carry with us for the rest of our lives and also pass on to our kids. She's been a wonderful grandmother to all 6 grandkids, 15 great grandkids, 9 great, great grandkids.

We never got the slush they were calling for, a big bummer for all us. It's sunny and about 20 degrees.

Have a great week.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie