Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:52 p.m. - February 24, 2005
Divine Intervention?
Her last year as a tween. My baby is growing up. Twelve years ago tonight.

I busted her out of school early today to take her shopping for her birthday. I should've taken the first mishap as a clue to stay close to home. I forgot my bank card at home in my jacket so we had to come back. We get back on the road and hit the mall in Raleigh at about 1:00. We do our shopping, find some awesome "bawgains" and head home to get M from school @ 3:45. When we get to the car I notice the back tire is totally flat. Not, flat-just-a-little-go-to-the-gas-station-down-the-road-and-put-air-in-it-flat. It was flat. Just as I notice I turn around and there is the nice mall security kid stopping to see if I need help. He puts the spare on, careful not to get his uniform wet (it's been raining and it's freezing) or mess up his well manicured hands. We're soon on our way but I need to stop to get gas. O says, "what's that grinding noise"? "Oh, just the sound of the spare because it's so small". I pull into the station, get out and look at it and it's flat. All I can do is laugh. I put gas in, use the owners phone to call Mark who say's he can't be there for a couple of hours. That's fine. I move the car to the corner so he'll be able to see me. We sit back and read a little, prepared for a long wait. It didn't seem but maybe an hour later I look out to see M behind me. My hero. We took the tire to the Peppy guys to have them fix it and when we get back, M goes to take off the spare and notices that he can take the lugs off by hand. Quite upset, he looks and me and says, "I'm glad this went flat because you and O could have been in a really bad accident. The tire could've flown off on the highway". Some call it luck, I call it Divine Intervention.

Both kids are sick again. Achy kind of sick. I don't know if it's allergies or a cold but they both just had it like 3 weeks ago. M has decided that they're both staying home tomorrow. I had a million and one things to do tomorrow. I am not missing my dental appointment.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie