Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:22 p.m. - January 20, 2006
A New Year, A New Entry
I think this is the longest I've gone without updating. We were without a computer for a good long time. I don't know why we have such bad luck with computers. My mom sent me her old one so we're up and running again. The only thing is that it's a flat screen. Boo is used to a regular old monitor that is nice and warm on top. I dont' know how many times he's jumped up from the floor only to fall behind the monitor. That was too funny. Right now he's sleeping to my left on the desk under the warm lamp.

So, backing up to the holidays, we went down to visit the family and to be perfectly honest with you, I think it was a horrible visit. For one, middle brother who lived next to mom was moving back to California and was frantically trying to pack and load and visit with us and celebrate Christmas. We helped him pack for awhile, but older brother and family had to leave to get back to TN. It was just too short a visit. It was weird not having my dad there. I didn't spend last year (the first Christmas without him)with them so it didn't hit as hard. I did get to meet my oldest nephew's girlfriend who is now carrying his child. I'm going to be a great-aunt. Holy cow that makes me sound old. I can't imagine my brother as a grand-father, his daughter is only 20 months and is going to be an auntie. I guess that's what happens when your kids are 20 years apart. It's not such a good situation as they (nephew and girlie friend) are both unemployed, he's only 21 she's 24-25. I can just see it all in my mind, but I have to support them. That's not my family, to turn our backs. Who knows, maybe things will be wonderful. I think they're getting married in April/May.

What else, what else??? In November I was in an accident where a woman ran into the person behind me and she hit me and I hit the next guy. Typical chain reaction. I felt fine when we all got out to swap info, but let me tell you, the next morning I couldn't move. Big mess. I think of this as I sit here with my lower back throbbing. It doesn't take much to get out of whack (when you get as old as me)!

O takes her practice SAT tomorrow. She's part of the Duke TIP program which will give her the real test next week. It's nothing that goes on her record, she'll have to take it again later. The state (as in probably most states) host these programs and they look at the AG students and their grades then give them the opportunity to be a part of this program. Yes, I'm bragging, but I can do that.

I'll stop now. I hope you're all doing well. Happy New Year

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie