Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:21 p.m. - December 26, 2002
Ba Humbug!
I need to start out by saying that I am sick of being sick on Christmas. Last year it was a mondo migraine and this year I have some bronchial ailment. I was at my worst yesterday. I'm feeling genuinely shitty.

Now I have to ask, am I the only one with a husband who lacks severely in the gift-giving department? I just wonder how someone can get "it" so wrong every single year. This year I actually wrote him a list, thinking I was being helpful. I even got item numbers and pictures, when I could, off the internet. I'm really not that hard to please, and it doesn't really take much, my list wasn't that long. Let's take for instance, the slippers. I asked for a pair of ballerina slippers. I like that they stay on my feet when I walk and Lord knows I'm not sitting down much around here. He bought these slip on things in a size 12. I asked for a velour robe (Black with leopard print labels and cuffs or Navy with that burn out pattern on it) and even told him where to look in the store, Walmart, mind you, and he brought home this fluffy, white thing with cherries and chartruese leaves all over it. The burgundy silk pjs would have been a smash had he come close to the right size. There were other tragedies but I think the aforementioned examples are sufficient. I don't want to come across as insensitive or ungrateful (although that's what he says I am). There have been plenty of times that he's come home with flowers bought at the side of the road stand that I went ga ga over. I just feel like

A) He really doesn't know what I like (we've been together for 18 years)

B) He's in a rush and grabs the first thing he can find (Which wouldn't surprise me although this year he did start earlier than usual) or

C) He just really doesn't care and can't be bothered with putting forth the effort of buying a nice gift.

I've asked him to take everything back, including the Aztec print rug he bought for the bonus room. Don't ask me where that idea came from, and put the money back into the checking account. I've had it with bunk gifts. Next year I think I'll opt-out of the whole gift giving bullshit. Remind me to tell you the story of the Billy Ocean CD and the Thermos he got me one year.

Mom and Dad left at about 8:00 this morning and just called to let us know that they made it home. I like having them here but I get awfully stressed out when they are. Them and their fat-ass Gracie. I tell you she's going to keel over from heart failure. Her and Pappy got into it under the table last night and one of them bit my dad on the leg. I'm pretty sure it was G.

All in all, contrary to all I've just stated, I had a nice "Christmas Season". I love doing things with the kids and seeing their delight in all things Christmas. I enjoy the season itself and most of what comes with it, just the gift-giving part needs some work.

I do need to mention that Matthew found a leather strap with big bells attached to it (Suspiciously the same size that would fit a reindeer) on the side of the house this morning. Hmmm? Either Dasher is missing his necklace or Dad was being slightly forgetful. You tell me.

There's always New Years.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie