Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:50 pm - June 26, 2004
Cookies In Heaven
I received another kick in the behind from Karen today so I figured I should update. It seems alot of us have been on hiatus lately. Is it the weather, laziness, boredom? Who knows, but here I am.

There really isn't too much to write about. No wonderful vacations taken or to be taken. I think our big outing this year will be the water park in Greensboro. It certainly is Bali or Figi or Hawaii, but there's water and the kids will have a blast. Mark and I were talking (imagine that) last night about planning and saving for a real vacation next summer.

Mark got a raise, I didn't. They did decide to give us the 5th of July off since the 4th falls on Sunday. Oh how very big of them. It doesn't really matter now because my family has decided that they can't make it up that weekend after all. I know that baby is going to be 15 before I see her again. Matthew's birthday is on the 5th so maybe we'll go do something special that day. My mom was really bummed about not being able to make it up here. It seems that Social Security and Lockheed have messed up on getting my dads funds transferred to her account so she is penniless until the 1st. It's been almost 2 months since he died and they have yet to give her a dime. It was explained to her that this is not an isolated incident, that when they are dealing with death benefits they get confused and flustered and screw up many accounts. Hearing that has restored my faith in the system...NOT! Other than that and just some bad days no and then, my mom is doing awesome. She says that she still yells at my dad when something goes wrong because he always fixed things. That just ripped my heart out. She said she's has some very angry conversations with my dad and God which I think are normal. One day at a time like my dad used to say. Matthew wants to send him and uncle Phil cookies. At Walmart they have tubs of this tiny cookies that are the perfect weight to tie onto the bottom of a balloon. They don't hold the balloon down at all. We'll do that next month on the 19th (Anniversay of Uncle's death). I know we're a loony bunch here but I figure "anything to keep their memories alive for my kids".

My friend Beth just found out she's expecting her 3rd child. It took her exactly one cycle to get knocked up. She was suppose to tell hubby last night. I'm anxious to hear how that went. Makes me want to go out and see her.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie