Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:50 p.m. - August 30, 2002
Drama Queen
I'm in so much pain right now. I think I have carpel tunnel. My left wrist feels like its out of joint and the pain shoots up my left arm. One of the ladies from work went home this morning to get her wrist brace for me. I thought that was very sweet. It does keep it stable but now my forearm feels like someone is shooting drano up my veins. I've never been an intravenous drug user but that's what I imagine it would feel like. Needless to say it's very difficult to type this.

We had some drama at my house yesterday. I got up extra early and was down stairs packing lunches when O came down stairs and plopped herself at the table. Our conversation kind of went like this:

O: Mom, what do you do when someone likes you but you don't like them?

Me: Try to ignore it. When he (assuming it's a "he")sees that you don't have any interest in him he will move on.

O: But it's more than one.

Me: Oh really? How many?

O: All the boys in my class. They always want to set right next to me during lunch and we can't change seats and I want to set next to my friends and they bug me.

Me: To myself: I wish I had that problem! Well, I say, tell your teacher and maybe she can referee everyone at lunch so that they won't bother you.

O: She just tells me to ignore it. (Tears start to flow) I hate being popular, everyone wants to be next to me and talk to me.

Me: Popularity isn't a bad thing. Just think about those kids that aren't so popular and no one wants to play with. How would you feel to be them?

O: (More tears, more drama) It's. just. so. hard. being. 9. Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

I tried so hard not to laugh. It was so pathetic. I was always that odd man out so I can only imagine what it was like to have everyone like you. She doesn't realize how great she's got it. She told Mark the other day that she doesn't want to be an A student anymore, that next time she's going to try for a B and would we still be proud of her. I didn't even know what to say. What do you say to a child who so effortlessly excels at everything she does and suddenly doesn't want to do well? Is it cool now to screw off and get bad grades...starting in elementary? Please tell me it's not starting this early.

On top of all this, she's got her first pimple right on the tip of her nose.

I should've been a nun!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie