Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:13 p.m. - January 16, 2003
Waiting for the Snow
Ho hum, Thursday. Can you believe we're half-way through the first month of the year? We're waiting for snow over here. The weather people have been talking about it all week and I guess now it's inevitable. The kids are stoked beyond belief. I don't think we'll get as much as we did last year but here's to hoping we do. I would really enjoy a 3-day weekend.

Today it was announced by "The Man" himself that they will not be laying anyone off. The company is doing great (which I didn't doubt) and no one should worry. Well, I've heard those words before so I'll just keep my cards close to my chest and see how things go.

My back is feeling better today, a little tender and a damn ugly scar is going to be left but hopefully no cancer. I've been worrying myself sick all day thinking "what if" but I can't do that. I've always known the importance of self-care but it's when something like this is hanging over your head that it really becomes important. So listen to me friends, check yourself out thoroughly, behind your ears, have your husband/so go through your hair, behind your legs, between the "cheeks", everywhere. Even places that aren't subjected to sunlight can still pop up with a little surprise. Ok, 'nough said I'm moving on.

I think I have Mark talked into a treadmill. I reeeeelllly want one and have wanted one for a few years. I've doubted my own commitment at times but now I'm totally serious. I've been looking for them on-line and hopefully when the cash gets here I can persuade him. I really like walking but would rather do it indoors where it's warm in the winter and cool in the summer. When I went to the gym I spent all my time walking so I'm using that as ammunition as well. I'll keep you posted.

Oh, one last thing. Last night O was going through some of her hundreds of books and found one that my grandmother had given me when I was about 5. It's a 1906 edition of Robert Louis Stevens Book of Poetry for Children. It's so awesome, the pages are old and yellowed and have that "smell". The book was actually assembled incorrectly so half way though it the pages are upside down. Just a little something to add to it's character. I'm no book buff but this is a really cool find.

Buh bye

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie