Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:28 a.m. - April 02, 2003
No Joke
This is no joke, I just checked my number and the directions are dead on.

Please check this out.

If you type in your phone number on www.google.com it comes up with your name and address and then directions via mapquest.

Read below to remove this.

This is true...I just looked up my phone number and it gave exact directions to my home and I had it removed!! This is very dangerous!! Many people are unaware of this danger. I was, in fact! Go to http://www.google.com. Then type in your phone number (separated by hyphens, including area code) and click on Google Search.

If your phone number is listed, it will show your name and address and give you two map options: Yahoo and MapQuest. See how accurate the map is to your home.

Any person wishing to discover the physical location of a phone number, be it a home or business address, could use this feature to locate a physical street address and receive directions on how to get there from anywhere in the country. We all know the dangers of this--for adults and our children!

Google has made available an option that will allow anyone to REMOVE their telephone number from the database that is linked to the mapping feature.

You will first need to check if your number is listed in this manner by attempting a search - entering your full telephone number

separated by dashes (xxx-xxx-xxxx). If the number appears in the mapping database, an icon resembling a telephone will appear next to the first or second entry on the results page. Clicking on this icon will take you to a page containing a description of the service and a link to request your number be removed from the database.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
The WeatherPixie The WeatherPixie